Super Dog Diets — evidence-led guidance. Last reviewed: 2 October 2026.
This article contains an affiliate link to Jollyes. If you buy through it, Super Dog Diets may earn a small commission at no extra cost to you. This is the first product on this site with a real commercial relationship behind it. The evidence and conclusions below are not affected by that — we would write the same thing about this product's disclosure gaps whether or not the link earned anything.
This is a researched article, not a clinical trial. Nobody at Super Dog Diets has fed this specific product to a dog and measured the result. The general evidence on omega-3 fatty acids below comes from a veterinary-education source, cited and linked; the product details come directly from the retailer's own listing, fetched and quoted on the date stated.
Quick answer, before the detail:
- Omega-3s (EPA/DHA) have real, peer-reviewed-backed support for skin/coat condition, certain inflammatory skin and joint conditions, and puppy brain/eye development — but more is not automatically better, and excess can actually impair wound healing and immunity
- Jollyes' own product page for this exact item discloses no guaranteed analysis, no dosing instructions and no storage information — a real gap, not filled in here with an invented number
- Because of that gap, we can't tell you how much actual omega-3 your dog would get per dose — follow the product's own physical label if it has one, or ask your vet
- This is a food supplement, not a licensed medicine — if your dog has a diagnosed skin, joint or eye condition, see a vet rather than relying on the bottle alone
What salmon oil is actually for
Salmon oil is a source of two long-chain omega-3 fatty acids — EPA (eicosapentaenoic acid) and DHA (docosahexaenoic acid) — that dogs cannot make efficiently on their own from plant-based omega-3s. Per WikiVet's nutrition reference on omega-3 fatty acids (a veterinary-education resource used by UK vet schools, summarising peer-reviewed research):
- EPA "is incorporated into the lipid bilayer of cell membranes" and competes with arachidonic acid for the same enzymes, producing eicosanoids that are "less pro-inflammatory." Studies cited show benefit for "allergic dermatitis, nephritis, and osteoarthritis in dogs."
- DHA "is conditionally essential for normal brain and retinal development" in puppies; deficiency is linked to "poor response to learned behaviour and visual acuity."
- Fish oil supplementation has also shown benefit in "dogs with heart disease."
- For skin and coat specifically, omega-3s work alongside omega-6 (linoleic acid) to "help maintain skin and hair coat quality."
The same source is equally clear about the limits of this evidence. It states plainly that "an optimal amount of ALA has not been determined," that benefits demonstrated in dogs "have not been demonstrated in cats or in dogs with other types of cancers," and — important for anyone tempted to assume more is better — that dogs given excessive EPA/DHA showed "impaired wound healing" and compromised immunity in studies. Toxicity data for ALA excess specifically is described as lacking.
The honest summary: there's real, peer-reviewed-backed support for omega-3 supplementation helping skin/coat condition, inflammatory skin and joint conditions, and puppy neurological development — but it's not a cure-all, more is not automatically better, and the right dose depends on your dog and your reason for giving it.
Is this a supplement or a medicine? Why that distinction matters
Salmon oil products like this one are sold as food supplements, not licensed veterinary medicines. That's a real legal distinction in the UK, not just marketing language — we've written about it in full in our dog supplements evidence, safety and labels guide, including how the Veterinary Medicines Directorate decides when a product crosses the line into being regulated as medicinal "by presentation" (i.e., by the claims made about it) rather than left as an unregulated food supplement.
What this means practically: if your dog has a diagnosed skin condition, joint problem, or eye issue, a food-supplement salmon oil is not a substitute for veterinary diagnosis and treatment — it may be a reasonable addition to a vet-approved plan, not a replacement for getting one.
What we found on Jollyes' own product page
We fetched Jollyes' Lifestage Salmon Oil for Dogs, 250ml listing directly on 2 October 2026. Here is everything the retailer's own page discloses, and — just as importantly — everything it doesn't:
Product: Lifestage Salmon Oil for Dogs, 250ml
Price at time of check: £9.50 (£38.00/litre)
Ingredients listed: "Salmon oil" — no other ingredients named
Claims made on the page: "Rich in antioxidants"; supports healthy skin and fur; "soothes skin with its anti-inflammatory properties"; described as supporting eyesight clarity and joint flexibility
Recommended for: dogs over 8 weeks old
Reviews: 28 customer reviews shown on the page at time of check
What is NOT disclosed anywhere on the product page:
- No guaranteed analysis or composition panel — so the actual EPA/DHA content per ml is not stated
- No feeding or dosing instructions of any kind
- No storage instructions (fish oils are prone to oxidation once opened; how to store this safely isn't addressed)
- No allergen information
This matters because it means we cannot tell you how much actual omega-3 your dog would receive per pump or per ml, which in turn means we cannot responsibly give you a "give your dog X ml per day" figure specific to this product — the retailer hasn't given us the information needed to calculate one honestly, so we are not inventing one. Veterinary sources describe daily EPA+DHA intakes in the broad range of roughly 50–170mg/kg combined (lower for general wellness, higher for therapeutic use in conditions like osteoarthritis), but exact figures vary meaningfully by source, by the condition being targeted, and by the product's own concentration — follow this product's own label dosing if it has one on the physical bottle (the website simply doesn't show it), or ask your vet, rather than relying on a generic online figure for a product whose actual strength we can't verify.
The bottom line
The general case for omega-3 supplementation in dogs is real and reasonably well-supported for skin/coat condition, certain inflammatory conditions, and puppy development — provided you don't overdo it. This specific product is a plausible, competitively priced way to get salmon-derived omega-3s into your dog's diet, but Jollyes' own listing doesn't disclose enough for us to tell you exactly how much active ingredient you're buying or how much to give — that's a genuine gap in the retailer's own information, not something this article can fill in for you. If your dog has a specific skin, joint or eye condition, talk to your vet about dosing and whether this is the right product before relying on the bottle alone.
Sources
- WikiVet — Omega-3 Fatty Acids – Nutrition — veterinary-education resource used by UK vet schools, summarising peer-reviewed literature on omega-3 fatty acid function, evidence and safety limits in dogs. Directly fetched and quoted in this session, 2 October 2026.
- Jollyes — Lifestage Salmon Oil for Dogs, 250ml — directly fetched in this session, 2 October 2026, for price, ingredients, claims and (the absence of) dosing/analysis information.
- Super Dog Diets — Dog Supplements: Evidence, Safety and Labels, A UK Guide — this site's own existing guide to the supplement/medicine legal distinction, linked rather than repeated here.
What was directly verified in this session: the Jollyes product page was fetched directly (not taken from a search snippet or third-party review) on 2 October 2026. The WikiVet omega-3 page was fetched directly and all quotes matched verbatim. The affiliate link was independently resolved via its redirect chain and confirmed to land on the correct, exact product page before being used in this article. A general veterinary dosing range (50–170mg/kg EPA+DHA) is cited from multiple veterinary-adjacent sources as broad orientation only — it is explicitly not presented as a dosing instruction for this specific product, since this product's own strength is not disclosed by the retailer.





















